GIJN Webinar — Staying Safe: How to Report a Pandemic

Print More

In a global crisis like this, journalists play a critical role: they inform the public and they monitor and report abuses of power by officials. But how can they do this when they’re dealing with psychological stress and threats to their own health and safety?

Many news organizations are in uncharted territory when it comes to providing a safe working environment and ensuring their staff’s well-being. At the same time, some governments are passing laws and finding other ways to restrict the work of journalists. In this webinar “Staying Safe: How to Report a Pandemic,” two experts will focus on how to best manage the multiple threats faced by journalists when reporting on COVID-19.

Courtney Radsch is Head of Advocacy at the Committee to Protect Journalists, which provides support to frontline journalists, including  rapid response to those under immediate threat. Dr. Richard Dawood, who runs London’s Fleet Street Clinic, focuses on medical risks, providing preventative care and crisis management for journalists and international media organizations.

This one-hour webinar is free and designed for journalists interested in investigating the pandemic. It is the fifth in a GIJN series, Investigating the Pandemic. Watch our Twitter feed @gijn and newsletter for details of coming programs.

Sign up for the webinar here!

Date: Thursday 23 April 2020
Time:
8:00 Bogota, Lima
9:00am EDT (Washington DC)
10:00 Buenos Aires
14:00 BST (London)
15:00 CET (Berlin, Paris. Johannesburg)
16:00 MSK (Moscow, Kyiv)
19:00 Dhaka
20:00 Jakarta
21:00 CST (Hong Kong, Kuala Lumpur)
23:00 Canberra

About the Speakers

Courtney C. Radsch is the advocacy director at the Committee to Protect Journalists, which provides support to frontline journalists, including rapid response to those under immediate threat. She is a veteran journalist, researcher, and free expression advocate.

 

Dr. Richard Dawood, who runs London’s Fleet Street Clinic, focuses on medical risks, providing preventative care and crisis management for journalists and international media  organizations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *