GIJN Webinar — Exporting Intolerance: How the Christian Right Is Funding Political Causes Overseas

Print More

Christian conservative groups are quietly spending millions of dollars in support of controversial movements in Europe, Africa, and Latin America that seek to roll back women’s and LGBTQI rights, and to support authoritarian political parties and causes. In this GIJN webinar we bring together three senior journalists who have investigated these groups and can offer tips on tracking the connections and following the money.

  • Lydia Namubiru is the Africa editor of openDemocracy. From Uganda, she specializes in data journalism and previously worked for Quartz Africa, The New York Times, the BBC World Service and Vision Group, Uganda’s largest media company. She also teaches data journalism at the African Centre for Media Excellence in Kampala and curates open data on www.data.ug.
  • Claire Provost is global investigations editor at openDemocracy, focusing on their Tracking the Backlash project against women’s and LGBTQI rights. Previously she was openDemocracy’s gender and sexuality editor, worked at the Guardian as a data journalist and was a fellow at the Centre for Investigative Journalism at the University of London, Goldsmiths.
  • Giannina Segnini is director of the Master of Science Data Journalism Program at Columbia University’s Graduate School of Journalism. She was previously head of the investigative team at La Nación in Costa Rica. Segnini is one of the five founding members of the Latin American Center for Investigative Journalism (CLIP, for its acronym in Spanish) and has received several international prizes for her work.

This webinar will be moderated by the award-winning journalist, filmmaker, and interactive producer Juliana Ruhfus, formerly senior reporter for Al Jazeera English’s “People & Power” series.

Watch our Twitter feed @gijn and see our newsletter for details on future events.

NOTE: This webinar offers live interpretation to Arabic and Spanish.

Sign up for the webinar here!

Date: Thursday 4 March 2021
Time:
Time: 9:00 a.m. EST (Washington, DC, Toronto, Bogotá)
11:00 (Buenos Aires, Brasilia, Santiago)
14:00 (London, Freetown, Monrovia)
15:00 (Abuja, Berlin, Paris, Rabat, Tunis)
16:00 (Cairo, Johannesburg, Amman, Kyiv)
17:00 (Kampala, Moscow, Nairobi, Istanbul)
19:00 (Islamabad)
19.30 (Delhi)
20:00 (Dhaka)
21:00 (Bangkok, Jakarta, Hanoi)
22:00 CST (Hong Kong, Kuala Lumpur, Manila)
23:00 (Tokyo)
00:00 (Sydney)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *