Accessibility Settings

color options

monochrome muted color dark

reading tools

isolation ruler



Journalism School Announces 2011 Winners of Cabot Prizes for Latin American and Caribbean Reporting

The Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism has announced the 2011 winners of the Maria Moors Cabot Prizes for outstanding reporting on Latin America and the Caribbean. The oldest international award in journalism, now in its 73rd year, the Cabot Prizes are conferred by Columbia University to honor journalists who have furthered inter-American understanding.

The 2011 winners are: Arizona Daily Star (United States), El Diario de Juárez(Mexico),

“More than anything, this year’s Cabot Prizes celebrate journalists on the front lines—two small but courageous papers braving drug criminals in Mexico; a breakthrough digital newspaper blazing an independent and ethical trail in Central America; a Canadian broadcast journalist showing us scenes and stories of real life that too often do not appear on U.S. TV; and a medium-sized, regional U.S. paper straining its resources to give its readers deep and nuanced coverage of the U.S-Mexico border,” said Columbia Journalism School Dean Nicholas Lemann. “This unique, high-quality journalism sets an example for journalists and media owners throughout the Americas.”

Columbia President Lee C. Bollinger will present medals and $5,000 awards to each winner at a dinner and ceremony on Wednesday, Oct. 26, on the University’s Morningside Heights campus.

For the full article click here.

Republish our articles for free, online or in print, under a Creative Commons license.

Republish this article

Material from GIJN’s website is generally available for republication under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International license. Images usually are published under a different license, so we advise you to use alternatives or contact us regarding permission. Here are our full terms for republication. You must credit the author, link to the original story, and name GIJN as the first publisher. For any queries or to send us a courtesy republication note, write to

Read Next