Accessibility Settings

color options

monochrome muted color dark

reading tools

isolation ruler



Investigative Journalism Awards to Apply For Now!

Worked hard to produce groundbreaking investigative projects this past year? Consider submitting your story for these prominent journalism awards, which are listed below and ordered by the nearest deadline. But hurry, some deadlines are coming soon!

We’ve selected awards which are international and of special interest to investigative journalists. For more global and regional awards, refer to GIJN’s Awards Guide (also available in Spanish, Chinese and Russian). For national awards, be sure to consult local journalism groups.

European Press Prize

The European Press Prize is given annually across four different categories, including investigative reporting. The prize is open to any print or online journalist who is a citizen of a Council of Europe country. Deadline: December 15, 2017.

Karpoor Chandra Kulish International Award for Excellence in Print Journalism

This award recognizes outstanding reporting by teams from daily newspapers working to uncover wrongdoing and promote a better quality of life. It is sponsored by a major Indian daily and the top award is US$11,000. Deadline: December 31, 2017

Investigative Reporters and Editors Award

The IRE Awards is a series of awards for various media given annually by the US-based Investigative Reporters and Editors. Categories include print/online, broadcast/video, radio/audio, book and student. The top award given is the IRE Medal. Open to journalists worldwide. Deadline: January 12, 2018.

Dart Awards for Excellence in Coverage of Trauma

The Dart Awards honor the most sensitive, thoughtful and ethical reporting on survivors of traumatic events. Although not explicitly investigative, winning entries are typically major works of in-depth journalism. Deadline: January 26, 2018.

IAPA Excellence in Journalism Awards

This award is given by the InterAmerican Press Association. There are 13 categories, including human rights, environmental and in-depth reporting. Open to newspapers and news agencies in over 33 nations of the Americas and the Caribbean. Deadline: January 30, 2018.

The TRACE Prize for Investigative Reporting

This award recognizes reporting that focuses on uncovering commercial bribery with the goal of advancing commercial transparency. Nominees can be print reporters, citizen journalists or bloggers from any country. Articles eligible for submission must have appeared in print or online during 2017. Two winning entries will be selected, with each winner receiving a cash prize of US$10,000 and the opportunity to attend an award ceremony hosted by TRACE. Deadline: January 31, 2018. 

Society of Publishers in Asia (SOPA) Awards

The SOPA Awards give tribute to editorial excellence in newspapers, magazines, wire services and websites across the Asia-Pacific region. Prizes are awarded across 17 categories in English and Chinese, including investigative reporting. Call for entries for the 2018 edition will be launched mid-December. Deadline: January 31, 2018.

One World Media Awards

The One World Media Awards celebrate “the most outstanding coverage of the developing world,” reflecting the social, political and cultural life of people around the globe. There are 15 categories, including reporting on corruption, women’s rights and refugees. Deadline: February 15, 2018.

Data Journalism Awards

Sponsored by the Global Editors Network, the Data Journalism Awards recognize outstanding work in the field of data journalism in any media worldwide. The prize is given for stories that have an impact at a societal level across multiple categories. One category recognizes the best data-driven investigation with a prize of US$1,801. Deadline: March 26, 2018.

Republish this article

Material from GIJN’s website is generally available for republication under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International license. Images usually are published under a different license, so we advise you to use alternatives or contact us regarding permission. Here are our full terms for republication. You must credit the author, link to the original story, and name GIJN as the first publisher. For any queries or to send us a courtesy republication note, write to

Read Next