A GIJN Webinar with Paul Myers: An Investigative Approach to Online Research

Print More

In this era of information technology, newsrooms can utilize the internet to find a lot of details about people of interest. By ferreting out these data, journalists can begin to map social networks and establish connections that are useful in their investigations.

We are pleased to introduce our first GIJN Webinar with Paul Myers: An Investigative Approach to Online Research on May 22, 2019. Myers, an expert in online investigative research, will spend an hour sharing effective techniques in using Google and social media for digging up information on people of interest. And you’ll have a chance to ask him questions.

The 1-hour webinar is free and designed for journalists who are interested in investigative online research. Details below.

Sign up here!

Date: Wednesday 22 May 2019
Time: 10:00am EDT (Washington DC)
15:00 BST (London)
16:00 CET (Berlin)
17:00 MSK (Moscow)
10:00pm CST (Hong Kong)

About the Instructor

The BBC’s top online sleuth Paul Myers is a favourite at GIJN’s conferences and will be joining us again at the 11th Global Investigative Journalism Conference in Hamburg this September.  He has been working at the sharp edge of online research for nearly twenty years. He became a news information researcher, for the BBC, in 1995, and eventually became a trainer and consultant for the corporation’s training division, in 1999. Blending his previous career as a computer programmer with the world of journalism, Paul pioneered many of the online research techniques that are now commonplace in the media. He runs the researchclinic.net website and is always developing new investigation strategies to cope with the changing digital landscape.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *