Accessibility Settings

color options

monochrome muted color dark

reading tools

isolation ruler



IRE accepting award applications, changing catagories

It’s that time of year again – time to enter your best work into the IRE Awards. Among the most prestigious in journalism, the IRE Awards recognize outstanding investigative reporting across all media. Eligible entries must have been published or aired between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31, 2011. The postmark deadline for submissions is Jan.13, 2012.

To better reflect the evolving nature of the industry, and the challenges inherent in the categories as they existed, IRE has restructured the categories for our awards. Along with the new categories to enter, we also have many special awards including ‘Breaking News’ and the ‘Gannet Award For Innovation in Watchdog Journalism’  For more information, please check out the online FAQ.

The official entry form is available to download from our website. For additional information on the awards, you may refer to our online FAQ page, or please feel free to contact the IRE Resource Center ( or 573-882-3364) if you have any questions.

Republish our articles for free, online or in print, under a Creative Commons license.

Republish this article

Material from GIJN’s website is generally available for republication under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International license. Images usually are published under a different license, so we advise you to use alternatives or contact us regarding permission. Here are our full terms for republication. You must credit the author, link to the original story, and name GIJN as the first publisher. For any queries or to send us a courtesy republication note, write to

Read Next