Accessibility Settings

color options

monochrome muted color dark

reading tools

isolation ruler


GIJN Election Results: October 2015 Votes on GIJC17, Board

GIJN squareGIJC17 Votes

  • Johannesburg        31
  • Amman                   13
  • Vancouver              13

Board Member Votes: At Large

  • Paul Radu  34
  • Jan Gunnar Furuly  31
  • Marina Walker Guevara   29
  • Brant Houston  29
  • Mzilikazi wa Africa  23
  • David Schraven   14
  • Eva Jung  16
  • Attila Mong  9
  • Cecil Rosner  9

Board Members Seats: Regional

  • Latin America: Fernando Rodrigues (unopposed)
  • Middle East/North Africa: Rana Sabbagh (unopposed)
  • North America:
    • Marina Walker Guevara 7
    • Brant Houston 3
    • Cecil Rosner 3

Note: Under GIJN’s election rules, a seat on the board is reserved for the highest vote- getter from each designated region. Therefore, Fernando Rodrigues was re-elected as Latin American representative, Rana Sabbagh as Middle East representative, and Marina Walker Guevara as North America representative.

Another four board seats are filled by at-large representatives who receive the highest vote totals. Therefore, the at-large seats went to Paul Radu, Jan Gunnar Furuly,
Brant Houston, and Mzilikazi wa Africa — all current board members.

For more on the election results, see our story here. For background on the election, please go

Republish our articles for free, online or in print, under a Creative Commons license.

Republish this article

Material from GIJN’s website is generally available for republication under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International license. Images usually are published under a different license, so we advise you to use alternatives or contact us regarding permission. Here are our full terms for republication. You must credit the author, link to the original story, and name GIJN as the first publisher. For any queries or to send us a courtesy republication note, write to

Read Next