Wole Soyinka Awards Honor Nigeria’s Best

The 12th Wole Soyinka Awards for Investigative Reporting were given out December 9 in Lagos, honoring Nigeria's best muckraking journalism. Top honors went to Adekunle Yusuf, named Investigative Reporter of the Year, for his three-part series exposing corruption and favortism at top university Unilorin. The awards are sponsored by GIJN member Wole Soyinka Centre For Investigative Journalism, named after Nobel laureate Wole Soyinka.

Source: PM News Nigeria

Posted on: December 10, 2017

IRE Awards Honor Khadija, Slavery Series

The 2015 IRE Awards honor 20 impressive projects, ranging from small and large print markets to radio, TV, books, and student work. IRE medals, the group's top honors, go to OCCRP's Khadija Project, AP's Seafood from Slaves, a ProPublica/NPR series on poor worker protections, and the Tampa Bay Times' failing schools reporting. Lots of other impressive winners, including UC Berkeley's Investigative Reporting Program and CIR/Reveal.

Source: Investigative Reporters and Editors

Posted on: April 7, 2016

European Press Prize Honors Investigative Work

The European Press Prizes were announced today, honoring some impressive investigative reports, including a Journalismfund.eu-backed project on migrant deaths, El Pais's "How To Produce Dead Guerillas," Novaya Gazeta's "Your Husband Voluntarily Went under Fire," and a special award to the Organized Crime and Corruption Reporting Project.

Source: European Press Prize

Posted on: April 13, 2015

New EU Awards Offered for Stories in Turkey, Balkans

EU Awards for Investigative Journalism in Western Balkans and Turkey are a new award for work in Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Turkey. Each prize includes 3,000-5,000 euros. For "investigative stories contributing to transparency and reporting on societal issues related to abuse of power and fundamental rights, corruption and organised crime that otherwise would not have been brought to the public's attention." Deadline: April 23.

Source: SEE Media Observatory

Posted on: April 11, 2015

European Press Prize Names Finalists

European Press Prize finalists include investigations by GIJN members International Consortium of Investigative Journalists (Luxembourg Leaks), Journalismfund.eu (The Belarus Network & The Migrant Files), and Organized Crime and Corruption Reporting Project. (Unholy Alliance & The Russian Laundromat). Winners will be announced in April.

Source: European Press Prize

Posted on: March 1, 2015

Impressive Reporting in Australia’s Walkley Awards

Australia's big annual journalism honors, the Walkley Awards, were announced this week, and feature impressive in-depth reporting. Among the topics awarded: the plight of Palestinian and Israeli children in Israeli courts, Australia's asylum system, child sex abuse in the Salvation Army, and "unconscionable" practices by the nation's top banks.

Source: The Walkley Foundation

Posted on: December 5, 2014

Knight News Challenge Gives $3.5m in Grants

The latest round of Knight News Challenge grants is out. The theme this year: strengthening the Internet. Among the 19 projects funded are mapping Internet ownership in Europe; new measurement tools for online censorship and rights violations; and verification and collaboration tools.

Source: Knight Foundation

Posted on: June 23, 2014

SOPA Awards Highlight Asia Investigative Reporting

More proof of investigative journalism's global impact: Here are winners of the just-announced SOPA awards (Society of Publishers in Asia) for investigative reporting, including a report on how Phnom Penh voting districts have more than 145,000 "ghost" voters. Also impressive: winners of reporting on women, human rights, and the environment.

Source: Society of Publishers in Asia

Posted on: June 14, 2014

SCOOP Macedonia Story Wins Investigative Award

The series of video articles by the journalist Menche Atanasova Tochi about the pollution of the plant "Feni", supported by SCOOP Macedonia, won the second prize for best investigative story for 2013, awarded by the Macedonian Institute for Media. The stories have been awarded because they contain authentic testimonials, exclusive footage and relevant information.

Source: SCOOP Macedonia

Posted on: March 28, 2014

European Press Prize Winners Announced

Congratulations to all the winners of the European Press Prize 2013. The Investigative Reporting Award went to Steve Stecklow, Babak Dehghanpisheh and Yeganeh Torbati of Reuters for their revelations about "the assets of the Ayatollah", an account of the economic empire behind Iran's Supreme Leader.

Source: European Press Prize

Posted on: March 19, 2014